Crap Collecting

RenningersThere are very few things that get me excited enough to wake up before 9am on a Saturday. Shopping at a HUGE antique fair just happens to be one of those things! Renningers Antique Extravaganza is held three times a year in Mount Dora, Florida. They hold a show in November, January, and February, and I go EVERY time. This show has been labeled one of the top 24 best antique shows by Country Living!!

While its cold and snowing in other parts of the world, I’m wearing sandals and getting sunburned on the back of my neck, walking a few miles searching for crap. I mean… antiques. My idea of antiques isn’t the dark wood, elaborate mid-century chair that nobody sits on. Don’t get my wrong, in the right setting, that type of antique is pretty and works well. But, my idea is totally different and most of the time people see it as junk that should be in the trash. I love anything that comes with dirt that I have to wash when I get home. Like I said, crap! If you plan on going, GET THERE EARLY! The one time we don’t get there at our usual 8am, we’re sitting in traffic!. And, bring your lunch. Its nice to have a picnic under the shade of the huge oak trees.

10557359_10206152923124301_2647830086463943387_n

Lunch time!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I HATE TRAFFIC!!

  Every time I go, I like to take a list of things I’m looking for. Believe me, when you get there your eyes wander and you forget what you wanted or “needed”. Or, by the time you find what you did want, your wallet is empty and you end up with a bunch of crap that sits in your garage until you figure out what you want to do with it…sometimes months down the road. At least that’s how my antique adventures go. Which reminds me, bring cash! Lots of cash!! And, leave your credit card (or if you’re my mom, old school – your checkbook) at home. Once your cash is gone, you’re done shopping! Set some boundaries or you will learn the hard way…that you will spend ALL your money in one day!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mom hauling our goodies

This past trip, my list consisted of wedding necessities only. But, I made sure to get things that I can use after we’re married. I found a lot of goodies that I now have to find time to “craft” them up. Now the fun part, COMING SOON pics of what I got, and what I plan to do with it! Here is a sneak peek!

~ Daweezy

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some of my finds…more to come!

One thought on “Crap Collecting

  1. It’s like gambling …you need to say, “I’m bringing this much cash and once it”s gone, that’s it..NOT!! Out comes the check book and thank you whoever invented the Square! Works for me yes sirreee!

    Like

Leave a Reply

